Virginia Lacrosse Pair Gets Hall Of Fame Call

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit
Two Virginia players will join U.S. Lacrosse Hall of Fame.
Robin Nye Wood and Doug Knight each enjoyed great success at Virginia. ~ Courtesy Virginia Athletics Media Relations

Two former Virginia lacrosse players have been selected as members of the 2017 US Lacrosse Hall of Fame class. UVA men’s standout Doug Knight and women’s standout Robin Nye Wood received the notice from the US Lacrosse Board of Directors. The induction ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 23.

Knight unleashed a legendary career at attack for the Hoos as a three-time All-American. Twenty years after the end of his career, he remains the program’s all-time leader in career goals with 165 and still ranks second in career points with 249. He still holds school single-season records for goals (56) and points (86) as well.

Knight earned first-team All-America honors in 1996 and 1997 after picking up a second-team nod in 1995. He won the Raymond Enners Award as the National Player of the Year in 1996. He was named the ACC Tournament MVP in 1997 when Virginia won the title and earned All-ACC honors three times. Knight played professionally for the Baltimore Thunder (indoor), Boston Cannons (outdoor), and Philadelphia Barrage (outdoor).

Nye enjoyed tremendous success at Virginia as well. She earned All-America honors twice and helped lead the Cavaliers to the NCAA National Championship in 1991. That same year, she was named the IWLCA’s Defensive Player of the Year. Nye joined the ACC’s 50th Anniversary Team in 2002 and had her number retired at UVA in 2012.

Nye played professionally as a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team from 1991 to 1997. The 1997 World Cup team captured the gold medal.

The duo joins a long list of former Hoos in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, including their former coaches Dom Starsia and Jane Miller. Jay Conner, Heather Dow, John Driscoll, Tom Duquette, Peter Eldredge, Billy Hooper, Jay Jalbert, Roddy Marino, Howdy Myers, Jim Potter, Bonnie Rosen, Doyle Smith, Michael Watson, Julie Williams, Jim Adams, Buddy Beardmore, Gene Corrigan, Wilson Fewster, and Bob Sandell all have been inducted as well.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit