The internet home for Hoos anywhere and everywhere.

Virginia Baseball Board

TrueHoo

Joined: 08/13/1998 Posts: 1355
Likes: 338


Ground Rule Double rule...


So, on a fan interference, umpires can.. at their discretion.. award more than two bases if they feel that it is 'obvious' the runner would have advanced further on the play.

In situations like yesterday, why do umpires not have that? In a vast majority of cases, two bases will be awarded, but there are instances where the third base should be awarded.

Is that something that they should look at? Or do we not want to open that can of worms?? I realize it means all GRD plays will be 3 bases for the Yankees.. but I digress :)

Posted: 10/11/2021 at 10:53AM



+0

Insert a Link

Enter the title of the link here:


Enter the full web address of the link here -- include the "http://" part:


Current Thread:

Get the Sabre Edge!

Subscribe to TheSabre.com!
vm314