The internet home for Hoos anywhere and everywhere.

Virginia Baseball Board


Joined: 10/17/07 Posts: 25289
Likes: 3114

Sure, I'm not debating the technicality, but common sense says we all know

no one in the sport of baseball ever tags up from first on a routine fly ball, so in that case it's way different than a diving catch by the fielder to rob a hit and then picking off the runner.

Traditionalists will harp on the letter of the score keeper rules, but common sense says it deserves to be scored differently. The closest thing we have to that is the lack of GIDP as you stated, but in this case it was essentially a steal and I would argue that if he was safe a steal would be appropriate scoring because he was not aided by the fly out - he just tried to catch the CF off guard. No different than if he waited until the pitcher had the ball and then tried to steal when he wasn't looking.

The reality is it's a situation that never happens and thus the score keeper was forced to put it in a box that didn't really fit regardless - not really a DP, not really a steal attempt. Just almost exclusively unique to All-Star game type play.

(In response to this post by UVA_IWU)

Posted: 07/12/2017 at 4:40PM


Insert a Link

Enter the title of the link here:

Enter the full web address of the link here -- include the "http://" part:

Current Thread:
So Ryan has hit into 2 DPs. :-( -- QuakerDave 07/11/2017 9:41PM
  Granted it wasn't a GIDP, but the box score... -- QuakerDave 07/12/2017 3:46PM
  It wasn't a steal. -- UVA_IWU 07/12/2017 4:17PM
  Absolutely. Great point. ** -- HOOSNICE 07/13/2017 2:34PM

Get the Sabre Edge!

Subscribe to!

Support Us by Shopping at Amazon