The internet home for Hoos anywhere and everywhere.

Virginia Soccer Board

Fred F.

Joined: 8/16/98 Posts: 17894
Likes: 1602

I didn't see the play, but...

If a ball is kicked and hits another player's arm, it is not necessary handling. As referees, we are instructed to look for things like arm to ball vs. ball to arm, and is the arm in a natural position or was the player trying to make herself larger to take up space.

But, assuming that the call was correct, that it was indeed a foul, I think that trying to add any sort of discretion around PK vs. DFK is just going to cause problems. There are enough judgment calls in soccer today, let's not add another. You don't like a PK being called for handling in the box then don't handle in the box.

(In response to this post by Hoos in da house)

Posted: 09/11/2017 at 1:45PM


Insert a Link

Enter the title of the link here:

Enter the full web address of the link here -- include the "http://" part:

Current Thread:
  I didn't see the play, but... -- Fred F. 09/11/2017 1:45PM
  Yes, changing that would be bad. -- Lucius 09/11/2017 08:37AM
  Eh, I disagree. -- Lucius 09/12/2017 08:45AM
  You use the waterboy trick... -- SokurHoo83 09/12/2017 2:14PM

Get the Sabre Edge!

Subscribe to!

Support Us by Shopping at Amazon